Become Fans

Dec 19, 2010

Air Terjun Iguassu , Brazil

Iguassu Falls, or Igua u Falls (Portuguese: Cataratas do Igua u [删 藞 said in z du i wa su]; Spanish: Cataratas del Iguaz [word 藞 删 ataz el i wa su] ; Guarani: Chororo Yguasu [蓵 删 删 扫 桑 asu o ]) are waterfalls of the Iguazu River located on the border of the Brazilian State of Paran and Misiones Province Argentina. Falls divide the river into upper and lower Iguazu. Iguazu River begins in the city of Curitiba and walking for most of the courses in Brazil and at the end on the border of Brazil and Argentina.
Their name comes from the Guarani or Tupi words y [] (water) and as [wa su] (large) . The legend says that god planned to marry a beautiful native named Naip , who fled with her ​​mortal lover in a canoe Tarob . In anger, the god sliced ​​the river creating the waterfalls, condemning the lovers to fall in everlasting  The first European to discover the falls is a Spanish Conquistador lvar N ez Cabeza 煤 帽 de Vaca in 1541, after a wrong. fall on the side of Argentina named. falls were rediscovered by Boselli  in the late nineteenth century, and one of the Argentinian falls is named after him.

Iguazu Falls was chosen as a candidate to become one of the New7Wonders of Nature by the New Seven Wonders of the World Foundation. In February 2009 he was ranked fifth in Group F, the categories for lakes, rivers, and waterfalls.
Waterfall system consists of 275 falls along 2.7 kilometers (1.7 miles) of the Iguazu River. Some individuals fall of up to 82 meters (269 feet) in height, though most are about 64 meters (210 feet). The Devil's Throat (Garganta del Diablo in Spanish or Garganta do Diabo in Portuguese), cataracts, U-shaped 82-meter-tall, 150-meters wide and 700 meters long (490 by 2300 feet), is the most impressive of all , and marks the border between Argentina and Brazil. Argentina side consists of three parts: The top of the falls, the lower falls, and Throat Devil.

Two-thirds of the falls are in Argentina territory. About 900 meters from the 2.7 kilometer length does not have running water on it. Edge of the basalt cap receded only 3 mm (0.1 in) per year. Water from the lower Iguazu collects in a canyon that flows in the River Paran , shortly downstream from the Itaipu Dam. Flowing water crossing marks the border between Brazil, Argentina, and Paraguay. There are points in all three cities that have access to Iguazu Falls where you can see the borders of all three countries at once, a popular attraction for tourists who visited all three cities.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More